Table of Contents
Wisconsin is one of the states in the US that accepts CCW permits from other states. This means that if you have a CCW permit from your home state, you can legally carry a concealed weapon in Wisconsin.
In this blog post, we’ll take a look at which states’ CCW permits are accepted and how to travel with your firearm safely in the state of Wisconsin
Wisconsin CCW Application Process Requirements
In order to obtain a CCW permit in Wisconsin the following requirements are needed:
- You must be at least 21 years old.
- must complete a firearms safety course.
- clean criminal record.
- must not be subject to a domestic violence restraining order.
- not be a fugitive from justice.
- not be adjudicated mentally incompetent.
- You must not be addicted to drugs or alcohol.
- must not have been committed to a mental health institution in the past 12 months.
- Not have been found guilty of a felony or any other crime for which you could have been sentenced to more than one year in prison.
- You must not have been found guilty of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.
- must not have been found guilty of certain controlled substance offenses.
- must not be subject to an active restraining order or injunction prohibiting you from possessing firearms.
- You must not have been convicted of a violation of a restraining order or injunction within the past 12 months.
- You must not have been found guilty of operating while intoxicated within the past three years.
- You must not have had your driver’s license revoked for alcohol-related offenses within the past three years.
- not be required to register as a sex offender in any state.
- You must not have been found guilty of certain prohibited acts under the Uniform Controlled Substances Act.
- You must not be on probation for any felony or misdemeanor offense.
- You must provide proof of residency in Wisconsin.
Documents Needed For CCW In Wisconsin
You will need to submit the following items with your application:
- Completed and signed application form.
- $50 fee for the five-year license.
- Set of fingerprints
- Color passport-style photograph.
- Proof that you have completed a firearms safety course.
- If you are a military member, you will need to submit a copy of your military ID and a copy of your DD-214 form.
- If you are a Wisconsin resident, you will need to submit a copy of your driver’s license or state ID.
- If you are not a US citizen, you will need to submit a copy of your Permanent Resident Card.
- Out-of-state applicants must submit a copy of their CCW permit from their home state.
- You will also need to provide proof of residency in Wisconsin if you are not a resident of the state. This can be done with a copy of your driver’s license, state ID, lease agreement, utility bill, or bank statement.
States Who Accept Wisconsin CCW Permits
The following states currently accept Wisconsin CCW permits:
- New Hampshire
- New Mexico
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
Wisconsin CCW Courses
There are a few different courses that you can take to fulfill the firearms safety course requirement for your Wisconsin CCW permit.
- The first option is to take a Hunter Safety Course offered by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources.
- You can also take a firearms safety course offered by a certified instructor, which must be at least eight hours long and include live fire training.
- Another option is to take a course offered by the National Rifle Association.
- You can also take an online course, but it must be approved by the Wisconsin Department of Justice.
- And finally, you can take a course offered by a military or law enforcement agency.
Traveling in Wisconsin with a CCW
If you are carrying a concealed weapon in Wisconsin, there are a few things that you need to know.
- First, you must always carry your CCW permit with you when you are carrying a concealed weapon.
- You must also notify any law enforcement officer who stops you that you are carrying a concealed weapon and show them your permit.
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation, you must notify the officer that you have a concealed weapon in your vehicle.
- If you do not have your permit for your concealed weapon you will be charged with a felony.
- You are also not allowed to carry a concealed weapon in certain places, such as schools, police stations, courthouses, airports, and stadiums.
Moving Across States with a Firearm
Packing up your entire life and migrating to a new location is what we call “moving.” Your new place of residence is most likely to be in a different state.
Relocating is often a tense and demanding experience. Moving is stressful enough without having to worry about whether or not you need a concealed carry permit in your new state to carry a pistol.
Your new state of residence or any states you travel through may be covered by Wisconsin’s CCW reciprocity. You should research the local legislation in the place you plan to settle in as well as any states you plan to travel through.
Having a Wisconsin CCW will buy you some time until you need to apply for a resident permit in your new state, so you may relax.