Table of Contents
If you are a law-abiding citizen of New Mexico, you may be wondering if you are eligible to carry a concealed weapon. The answer is: it depends on your occupation!
In this blog post, we will discuss the eligibility requirements for carrying a concealed weapon in New Mexico. We will also provide information on how to apply for a CCW permit in the state. Stay safe, New Mexicans!
New Mexico Concealed Handgun License Application Process Requirements
To apply for a concealed handgun license permit in New Mexico, you must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Be a resident of the state of New Mexico
- Have no felony convictions
- Have no pending criminal charges
- have been diagnosed with a mental illness within the last five years.
- Not have been committed to a mental institution within the last five years.
- Not be under a restraining order or subject to any other court order that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm.
- not have been convicted of a misdemeanor within the last three years.
- Not have been convicted of a DWI within the last three years.
- Be currently employed by or have retired from a law enforcement agency.
- Have completed a firearms training course within the last year.
To apply for a concealed handgun license permit, you must submit the following to your local sheriff’s office:
- A completed application form and submit it to your local sheriff’s office, along with the required fees. The required fee is $100 for a four-year permit, or $200 for an eight-year permit.
- A photocopy of your driver’s license or other government-issued ID.A passport-style photograph.
New Mexico and Non-Resident Concealed Handgun License Permits
If you are not a resident of New Mexico, but you own property in the state or your spouse is a resident of the state, you may be eligible for a non-resident Concealed Handgun License permit.
To apply for a non-resident permit Concealed Handgun License , you must meet all of the requirements listed above for residents, with the following exceptions:
- You must be at least 25 years old.
- You must have a Concealed Handgun License permit from your home state that is valid for at least one year.
- You must complete a firearms training course that is approved by the New Mexico Department of Public Safety within the last year.
- The required fee for a non-resident CHL permit is $200 for a four-year permit, or $400 for an eight-year permit.
If you are eligible for a CHL permit in New Mexico, be sure to follow all of the requirements and submit the necessary documentation to your local sheriff’s office.
States Who Accept New Mexico CHL Permits
New Mexico has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Be sure to check the laws of the state you are visiting to ensure that you are in compliance with their concealed carry regulations.
New Mexico Concealed Handgun License Course
The New Mexico Concealed Handgun License course is a firearms training course that is approved by the New Mexico Department of Public Safety. The course must be completed within one year of the date of application for a CCW permit.
The course must be at least eight hours long and include:
- Basic Marksmanship
- gun safety rules
- self-defense principles
- firearms laws
- storage of firearms ammunition types
- CHL permit application process.
The course must be taught by a certified instructor who is approved by the New Mexico Department of Public Safety. For more information on the New Mexico CCW course, please contact your local sheriff’s office.
Traveling with a Concealed Weapon in New Mexico
If you are traveling with a concealed weapon in New Mexico, you must follow all of the laws and regulations regarding firearms.
- You must have your CCW permit with you at all times when you are carrying a concealed weapon.
- You must also comply with the laws of the state you are visiting regarding concealed carry permits and firearms.
- Be sure to check the laws of the state you are traveling to before you travel, so that you can be in compliance with their laws.
New Mexico is a shall-issue state for concealed carry permits. This means that as long as you meet all of the requirements, the sheriff’s office must issue you a permit.
There are some counties in New Mexico that will not issue concealed carry permits, so be sure to check with your local sheriff’s office before you apply.